Monday, October 29, 2007

Official 2007 Trail Runner Magazine Trophy Series Results

Although I was right about Dale Reicheneder being the first repeat winner, my guesses weren't as good on the Ultra side of things. It appears that the 24-Hour Race format was key to winning the Ultra division this year (which would make sense - points are based on miles, and get a multiplier based on finish place, so a 100+ mile win at a 24-Hour race is worth tons). Not so sure about their comment that Dale won by "a handful of points" - looks to me like there was a healthy 100+ point margin.

Plus look at who won the random drawing to be on the La Sportiva Mountain Running Team - our very own Mark Tanaka!

Here's the official announcement:

Trail Runner Announces Final Trophy Series Results- Oct 25

Diane van Deren and Dale Reicheneder dominate North America’s largest trail-running series

OCTOBER 25, 2007, CARBONDALE, COLORADO—Trail Runner magazine, North America’s leading publication for off-road running, announced the winners of the fourth annual La Sportiva Trail Runner Trophy Series this week on After the series wrapped up on September 30, results from 115 races, ranging from 5K to 150 miles, were collected and points for 21,000 Trophy Series participants tabulated to determine the final standings.

Diane van Deren of Sedalia, Colorado, dominates the Ultramarathon Division standings with 1356 points, with no other competitor (male or female) breaking the 1000-point mark. Van Deren capped off a busy summer, including eight ultras, with the 24 Hours of Frisco in Frisco, Colorado, on September 23. There, she logged 114 miles for the women’s victory and 456 Trophy Series points.

Christine Crawford of Whitewater, Wisconsin, is second with 885.8 points after a speedy 4:35:36 second-place performance at the Rock Cut Hobo 50K in Rockford, Illinois, in September. Third overall, and men’s Ultra-Division leader, is Jim Orr of Toronto, Ontario, who tallied 834 points after winning both the Dirty Girl 24 Hour race, where he covered 108.5 miles, and the Sulphur Springs 100-miler, in Ancaster, Ontario, with a time of 17:14:53.

Dale Reicheneder topped the Marathon and Shorter Division once again (he was the 2005 champion), after competing in 19 races and scoring five age-group victories. The 41-year-old litigation attorney from Malibu, California, held off defending champion Hugh Davis and Brian Beckort, both from Tell City, Indiana, by only a handful of points to become the 2007 Series champion.

Canadian Janice MacKay of Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, capped off her successful racing season, punctuated by three age-group wins at the Keweenaw Trail Running Festival in Copper Harbor, Michigan, with a second-place age-group performance at Mount Hood, Oregon’s Timberline Marathon in 4:20:57. MacKay’s six impressive trail-race performances kept her ahead of second-place Julie Gerke of Basking Ridge, New Jersey, who won her age group at the Odyssey and Running Fit Trail Marathons, and Donna Gering (Ironwood, Michigan), in third place after four Trophy Series events.

Top male and female winners in the Ultramarathon Division and Marathon-and-Under Division’s 10 age group categories will receive prize packages including gifts from Trophy Series sponsors La Sportiva, Injinji, Spenco, Julbo, Mont-Bell, Kahtoola and Petzl.

Mark Tanaka of Castro Valley, California, is winner of the randomly drawn Grand Prize of an honorary position on La Sportiva’s Mountain Running Team. Tanaka will receive four pairs of La Sportiva running shoes plus a team-apparel package including socks, headlamp, singlet, running T-shirt, shorts, warm-up jacket and headwear. La Sportiva will offer this same Grand Prize in the 2008 Trail Runner Trophy Series.

Pick up a copy of Trail Runner’s January 2008 issue to read more about the male and female division winners. This special Trophy Series issue will also include the 2008 Trophy Series Race Directory, a special Take Your Mark story highlighting three outstanding races belonging to the series and training and nutrition articles to get you primed for race day.

Plans for the 2008 Trophy Series are already underway. Race directors interested in being a Trophy Series race should apply before November 12, 2007 here.

2007 Trophy Series Standings Highlights

Top Ultramarathon Men
1. Jim Orr, Toronto, Ontario, 834 points
2. Karl Meltzer, Sandy, Utah, 800 points
3. Akos Konya, Oceanside, California, 700 points

Top Ultramarathon Women
1. Diane Van Deren, Sedalia, Colorado, 1356 points
2. Christine Crawford, Whitewater, Wisconsin, 885.8
3. Anita Fromm, Manitou Springs Colorado, 509.6

Marathon and Shorter Age-Group Winners, Men
10-19 years old—Clint Hugie, Salt Lake City, Utah, 107.1 points
20-29 years old—Dan Dehlin, Marquette, Michigan, 285.5 points
30-39 years old—Brian Beckort, Tell City, Indiana, 460.4 points
40-49 years old—Dale Reicheneder, Malibu, California, 683.2 points
50 and over—Heath Hibbard, Montrose, Colorado, 319.1 points

Marathon and Shorter Age-Group Winners, Women
10-19 years old—Alanna Wildman, Milaca, Minnesota, 104.8 points*
20-29 years old—Rachel Post, Plymouth, Michigan, 144.1 points
30-39 years old—Mary White, Kirkwood, Missouri, 166.8 points
40-49 years old—Julie Gerke, Basking Ridge, New Jersey, 209.6 points
50 and over—Janice Mackay, Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, 346.6 points

*Wildman had the same number of points as several other women in her age group, but was named the winner for logging the fastest marathon time of 4:41:43.

Please click here for full results.


  1. Well, after a hideous weekend during which I worked 3 very busy overnight shifts on much less sleep than I need, it's nice to read some righteously good news. Happy Halloween! What's Sophie going to dress as? Good luck this weekend! (I'll be doing more overnights, ugh...)

  2. Congrats to Mark Tanaka for getting on La Sportiva! Diane van Deren was pretty close in edging out Van's score from last year. I'm always amazed at seeing the women's scores, they dominate the series!


I LIVE for comments! Please add your thoughts, let me know you stopped by, etc., and be thoughtful of others. Always best if you sign your name, of course.

Latest Excursions